September 2017 News

National Merit Commended Students

Friday, September 22, 2017

The following seniors have been recognized as Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. Commended students are being recognized for the exceptional academic promise demonstrated by outstanding performance on the Qualifying Test (PSAT) last October. Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2016 PSAT.

Angela Cardwell
Ningmei Gong
Nils Hinniger
Ryan Martinez
Dione Miles-Morillo
Julia Newbold
Conner Partaker

United Way Day of Action

Monday, September 18, 2017

Academy students participate in the United Way Day of Action

More than 50 Academy faculty, staff, and students participated in the United Way Day of Action on Thursday, Sept. 7. Volunteers worked morning and afternoon shifts outside on the Cardinal Greenway where they cleaned up trash, repaired asphalt, painted over graffiti, and weeded along the trails. Academy students who participated each earned a least four hours of community service depending on which shift they worked, and some students worked both shifts.

For the past four years, Academy instructor John Marsh has helped to organize the Academy volunteers. “The previous three times we were recognized as the group which provided the most volunteers, so we wanted to try to keep that honor again this year,” Marsh explained. “Students are not allowed to miss class for it, so they have to be available during the volunteer slots. So, our volunteer numbers would be even higher except there are students who want to participate but cannot due to their academic commitments.”

2018 National Merit Semifinalists

Thursday, September 14, 2017

The following seniors have been named Semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program:

Anna Beach
Michael Hu
Keith Murray
John Tade
Stanley Zheng

They now have the opportunity to continue in the National Merit Scholarship competition.

Indiana Statehouse Representative Donna Schaibley Visits Academy

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Representative Donna Schaibley (District 24) visited the Indiana Academy on Sept. 1 to learn more about the school. She toured Academy facilities and classrooms in addition to meeting with Academy administrators, students, and faculty. Schaibley (far left) observes Academy students Tessa Walters and Sophia Bysick as they share their list of daily activities in French. Also pictured are Academy alumnus Cassandra Grosh; Joe Turner, Director of Residential and Student Affairs; Jeff Smith, Director of Academic Affairs; Jennifer Robinson, French Instructor; and Vickie Barton, Executive Director of the Indiana Academy.