March 2020 News

Academy Senior Named Regional Academic All-Star

Sunday, March 29, 2020

Komal Kumar, Regional Academic All-Star

Academy senior Komal Kumar has been named a 2020 Regional Academic All-Star by the Indiana Association of School Principals.

Press release from IASP:

Indianapolis — Forty high school seniors from throughout Indiana have been named 2020 Indiana Academic All-Stars, a program of the Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP). In addition, 50 other students were recognized as Academic All-Star Regional Honorees. The students were selected from a field of 280 outstanding nominees from the state’s private and public accredited schools.

Academic All-Star distinction recognizes seniors who excel in the classroom first and foremost, but who also are actively involved in their schools and communities, and take on leadership roles in those activities. The program is produced by the Indiana Association of School Principals, with support provided by DePauw University, Indiana University Bloomington, and Purdue University, along with corporate partner Herff Jones.

Student awards will be awarded at a later date by DePauw University, Indiana University-Bloomington, Purdue University, and the Indiana Association of School Principals. Herff Jones provides the plaques awarded to the 40 Indiana Academic All-Stars and their Influential Educators.

The IASP Indiana Academic All-Stars program salutes academic excellence in the same manner that student athletes traditionally are honored. By providing a showcase for academically talented seniors, the sponsoring organizations hope to accomplish the following objectives:

  • Give academic achievement the prestige it deserves;
  • Motivate students to recognize the value of academic excellence;
  • Provide students with an incentive for academic achievement, and
  • Promote a positive image of Indiana’s young people.

Each public and private high school accredited by the Indiana Department of Education may nominate one senior for consideration as an Indiana Academic All-Star. From these nominees, a selection committee chose the Regional winners (representing five regions in Indiana) and the 40 Indiana Academic All-Stars.

Selection of the school’s nominee is based upon the following considerations:

  • A mathematical formula that combines the SAT or ACT composite score and the seven-semester grade-point average; and
  • Academic achievements and honors, academic courses and academic extracurricular activities.
  • Other extracurricular activities, community service and leadership qualities.

The following were recognized as 2020 Indiana Academic All-Stars:
Jennifer Cahillane, Washington Township Middle/High School, Valparaiso
Joseph Carper, Perry Meridian High School, Indianapolis
Tyler Chamberlain, Bloomington High School South, Bloomington
Dylan Clarke, Franklin Community High School, Franklin
Lauren Coffey, Plainfield High School, Plainfield
Taylor Coffman, Wabash High School, Wabash
Amina Dalal, Ben Davis High School, Indianapolis
Lukas Denney, Crown Point High School, Crown Point
Daniel Ehrlich, Park Tudor School, Indianapolis
Lyndie Foster, Scottsburg High School, Scottsburg
Nicholas Grill, Cathedral High School, Indianapolis
Sophia Rae Hagedorn, Center Grove High School, Indianapolis
William Hawkins, Roncalli High School, Indianapolis
Emma Higgason, Munster High School, Munster
Imran Hussain, Eman School, Fishers
Kaveh Jalinous, La Lumiere School, LaPorte
Tara Kalia, Frankin Central High School, Indianapolis
Paige Kertes, Fishers High School, Fishers
Emre Keskin, West Lafayette Jr/Sr High School, West Lafayette
Gabriel Kroeger, Chesterton High School, Chesterton
James Yixing Lao, Zionsville Community High School, Zionsville
Angela Li, Carmel High School, Carmel
Regan Mangrum, Southwestern Jr/Sr High School, Shelbyville
Hayden Mattick, Terre Haute North Vigo High School, Terre Haute
Will Michaels, Valparaiso High School, Valparaiso
Kenzie Paul, Mount Vernon High School, Mt. Vernon
Benjamin Pekarek, Wm. Henry Harrison High School, West Lafayette
Daelyn Quinn, Castle High School, Newburgh
Reid Schene, Shelbyville High School, Shelbyville
Rose Schnabel, International School of Indiana, Indianapolis
Kabir Sheth, Signature School, Evansville
Hugh Smith, Plymouth High School, Plymouth
Erica Song, Columbus North High School, Columbus
Owen Speer, Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School, Indianapolis
Hannah Tippets Brownsburg High School, Brownsburg
Grant Wagner, Winchester Community High School, Winchester
Karen Wang, University High School, Carmel
Benjamin Wilkerson, Greencastle High School, Greencastle
Veronica Wrobleski, Canterbury School, Fort Wayne
Gene Yang, Kokomo High School, Kokomo

The students listed below are recognized as Regional Academic All-Stars:
Quintin Allen, Tippecanoe Valley High School, Akron
Erin Batta, Batesville High School, Batesville
Samantha Beachey, Fairfield Jr/Sr High School, Goshen
Cole Bergman, Garrett High School, Garrett
Benjamin Beyer, Warsaw Community High School, Warsaw
Neha Bhasin, Evansville Day School, Evansville
Benjamin Blachly, New Palestine High School, New Palestine
Elizabeth Casetti, Penn High School, Mishawaka
Joshua Chen, Lake Central High School, St. John
Christiane Davis, White River Valley High School, Switz City
Jui Desai, Avon High School, Avon
Peyton Eaton, Barr-Reeve Middle/High School, Montgomery
Addison Emig, Central High School, Evansville
Allison Furnish, Switzerland County High School, Vevay
Makenna Gall, NorthWood High School, Nappanee
Joseph Gard, Elkhart Memorial High School, Elkhart
Ellie Garst, Western Boone Jr/Sr High School, Thorntown
Andrew Glover, New Castle High School, New Castle
Joel Greenfield, Lawrence Central High School, Indianapolis
William Hartwell, Milan High School, Milan
Abigail Hauser, Forest Park Jr/Sr High School, Ferdinand
Carson Herrell, Harrison High School, Evansville
John Herzog, Hamilton Southeastern High School, Fishers
Carrie Hoke, Eastern High School, Pekin
Jordan Jennings, Rochester Community High School, Rochester
Samuel Johnson, Hauser Jr/Sr High School, Hope
Rylee Johnson, Shenandoah High School, Middletown
Brooke Jones, Elkhart Christian Academy, Elkhart
Emmalee Kiser, Columbus East High School, Columbus
Komal Kumar, Indiana Academy for Science, Math & Humanities, Muncie
Treyton Lehman, South Adams High School, Berne
Emily Longenecker, Rossville Middle/Sr High School, Rossville
Sarah Mahnesmith, Rensselaer Central High School, Rensselaer
Jesse McCurdy, Lapel High School, Lapel
Aidan McDonnell, Marquette Catholic High School, Michigan City
Luka Mikek, Crawfordsville High School, Crawfordsville
Madison Moseley, North Montgomery High School, Crawfordsville
Carson Park, Jasper High School, Jasper
Ethan Roos, Heritage Hills High School, Lincoln City
Ian Schowe, East Noble High School, Kendallville
Caleb Shenk, Bethany Christian School, Goshen
Edward Smalstig, Yorktown High School, Yorktown
Emma Summers, Brown County High School, Nashville
Abigail Teipen, South Putnam Middle/High School, Greencastle
Isabel Turner, Southport High School, Indianapolis
Olivia Vanderbur, North Decatur Jr/Sr High School, Greensburg
Grace Vlasek, St. Theodore Guerin High School, Noblesville
Gabriella Willoughby, Mitchell High School, Mitchell
Lucille Wilson, Speedway High School, Speedway
Jaylen Young, Seeger Memorial Jr/Sr High School, West Lebanon

The Indiana Association of School Principals leads in the advocacy and support of all principals in their commitment to every child. The Department of Student Programs hosts academic competitions for students in grades 4-12, as well as a Martin Luther King Jr. essay contest, a Student Day at the Legislature, the Academic All-Stars Program, and the Indiana Cheer Championship. Annually, over 42,000 students are involved in Department of Student Programs sponsored events. To learn more about the Indiana Association of School Principals and the Department of Student Programs, visit