May 2022 News

Academic Super Bowl Results

Monday, May 9, 2022

Saturday, May 7, the Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP) held the state championship for Academic Super Bowl. The Indiana Academy had teams qualify for the state competition in Mathematics, English, Science, Fine Arts, and Interdisciplinary.

The Mathematics team took first place. English took second place, with the second tie-breaker separating them from first place. Science took third place, with the third tie-breaker separating them from second place. Fine Arts took fourth place, with the first tie-breaker separating them from third place. The Interdisciplinary (ID) team took 1st place.

Students attending this competition were Llla Beghtel (English, Fine Arts, and ID), Bryn Deibel (Math Captain, Science, and ID), Emily Denny (English), Uma Kandallu (English Captain and ID), Gunvanth Kandula (Science Captain and ID), Adrienne McKay (Fine Arts), Tyler Robertson (Fine Arts Captain, Math, and ID), Neharika Upadhyay (Science and ID), Rachel Watson (English and Fine Arts), and Justin Xia (ID Captain, Math, and Science).

Other students involved in Academic Super Bowl this year include Elijah Buck, Joseph Ciceu, Jaehun Kim, Tristan Morris, Jarett Rusznak, Jonathan Slater, Ezekiel Ulrich, Olivia Walker, and Yifei Wang.

Congratulations to coach Ms. Jessica Edrington and her teams, and special thanks to Mr. Steve Schuh for helping to drive the students to Purdue and back!

Academy Senior Named Purdue Beering Scholar

Thursday, May 5, 2022

Indiana Academy senior Autumn Reynolds has been awarded a Steven C. Beering Scholarship, which covers the full educational expenses for a bachelor’s degree, one master’s degree, and either a Ph.D. or professional degree in medicine, veterinary medicine or pharmacy at Purdue University, as well as funding for a study abroad experience. Autumn is from Michigan City, Indiana, and will also be a member of the Purdue Honors College, where she plans to study Public Health.

Scholarship recipients are selected through an invitation-only process once they are admitted to Purdue. A committee reviews applications and determines the recipients based on high school credentials and leadership skills. The program was created by Purdue’s ninth president, Dr. Steven C. Beering, who raised private funds for the endowment.

Congratulations Autumn!