April 2019 News

Academy Students Take Home Gold and Silver at Russian Olympiad

Monday, April 29, 2019

On Saturday, April 27, a group of Academy students Russian competed in the Russian Olympiad hosted by the Global and International Studies School at Indiana University in Bloomington.

Nathan BuehrerSilver
Lillian RogersSilver
Isabell ReynoldsSilver
Jenna LittlejohnGold
Anand RathinasamyGold
Bailee WolfeGold
Jake WhiteGold

Registered but unable to attend were Grace Nelson and Katherine Kerr.

Additionally, Jake White won the ACTR Slava Award for Outstanding Achievement for a non-hertiage speaker, and Anand Rathinasamy won the ACTR Slava Award for Outstanding Achievement for a heritage speaker.

Congratulations to these students and their Russian instructor, Heather Rogers.

Indiana Academic All-Star

Thursday, April 25, 2019

Congratulations to Sage Hamm on his selection as a 2019 Indiana Academic All-Star. Sage was recognized at a luncheon on Thursday, April 25 in Indianapolis. The recognition is sponsored by the Indiana Association of School Principals and recognizes students for outstanding Academic performance as well as extra-curricular involvement and accomplishments. Each student nominates a teacher who has been most influential in their Academic progress and development, and he nominated Stephanie Nagelkirk who was also recognized at the event. Congratulations to Sage and Ms. Nagelkirk for this recognition.

Christine Ney Awarded Outstanding Teaching Award

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Congratulations to Indiana Academy instructor Christine Ney on being honored with the University Schools Outstanding Teaching Award during the Teachers College recognition reception on Thursday, April 18. Ms. Ney is retiring after 32 years of service to Ball State and the Indiana Academy.

Academy Students Give Outstanding Performance at Economics-Philosophy Competition

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Ten teams from three different high schools including the Indiana Academy competed on April 18 in an event put on by the Ball State University Economics Department. The Academy fielded three teams of seniors, and they all performed exceedingly well. After presentations and discussion, questions on specific moral dilemmas were put to the teams, and they had only 5 minutes to formulate an answer. All three Academy teams delivered answers that were strongly reasoned, supported by relevant philosophical concepts, creative, and very well-articulated. Participating students included:

Suzanne Brown, Francesca Clifton, Than Win, Magnolia Clayton, Hanbit Lee, Rachael Snow, David Stephens, Nathan Buehrer, Alex Newhall, Samuel Shephard, and Drew Wheatley

Medals were awarded to the first, second and third place teams in the competition, and Academy teams won first and third!

National Latin Exam Results

Thursday, April 18, 2019

The results are in from the National Latin Exam, and here is how Academy students placed:

Gold Medal
Natalie Williams
Meredith Fairman
Grace Allman

Silver Medal
Parker Clingerman
Seth Rubush
Lincoln Rutter
Judy (Yifei) Liu
Jacob Nichols
Paige Lang
Patrick Caron
Preston Dunithan
Nora Slaven

Magna Cum Laude
Cheyenne Brenton
Elliott Whiteside

Cum Laude
Micayla Roginski

Our senior Latin 2B students this year took the “Level 3” exam since we are an accelerated program (an Academy first!) which means that the seniors in this list are not only performing at a level above where they would normally be but are excelling at that level with respect to their Level 3 peers in other schools.

Academy Instructor of Life Sciences Receives Prestigious Award

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Academy instructor Michael Mayfield has been selected as the 2018-19 recipient of the prestigious Battey National Educator Award. The award provides a plaque, an honorarium of $8000 to Mr. Mayfield, and a grant of $2000 to the Indiana Academy to be applied to our programs.

Kiara Goodwin, an Academy alum and current senior at DePauw University, nominated Mr. Mayfield for the award. Her nomination expressed the inspiration and vigor of Mr. Mayfield’s teaching style.

Mr. Mayfield will be recognized at the annual Chuck and Joan Battey dinner reception at DePauw University.