Latest News

HOSA Leadership Conference

Friday, April 13, 2018

The Indiana Academy HOSA “warriors” attended the State Leadership Conference in Indianapolis from April 9–11 in order to participate in learning sessions and compete in various subjects. The Health Occupations Student Association (HOSA) promotes knowledge of Health Professions and the skills required in the professions.

The Academy group did well making the finals in Original Medical Innovations (Hailey Chang, Amber Zhao, Risha Mehta and Yuna Lee), Interviewing skills (Priya Chaudhary), Pharmacology (Michelle Cai), Epidemiology (Yuna Lee & Priya Chaudhary), Human Growth & Development (Risha Mehta), Medical Law & Ethics (Yuna Lee), and Nutrition (Amber Zhao). Yuna Lee took first place in the state in both Medical Law and Ethics and Epidemiology.

Participating in other competitions (Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, Biomedical Lab Science, Medical Math, & Pathophysiology) were Lily Adney, Katie Decker, Rahul Agarwal, and Libby Haupert.

The group was accompanied by Mr. Mike Mayfield and Ms. Susie Cunningham. Congratulations are due these students on an excellent effort over a good and busy couple of days.

Academy Student Named Indiana Academic All-Star

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Congratulations to Keith Murray on his selection as a 2018 Indiana Academic All-Star. The forty Indiana Academic All-Stars and 50 Regional All-Stars will be recognized at a luncheon on Friday, April 27th at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in Indianapolis. The recognition is sponsored by the Indiana Association of School Principals and recognizes students for outstanding Academic performance as well as extra-curricular involvement and accomplishments. Each student nominates a teacher who has been most influential in their Academic progress and development. Mr. Les McSparrin has received that nomination and will also be recognized at the luncheon. Congratulations to Mr. McSparrin for this recognition.

This is the second consecutive year that a student from the Indiana Academy has been selected as one of the 40 Indiana Academic All-Stars and our third All-Star or Regional All-Star in three years.

2018 National Merit Finalists

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Congratulations to our 2018 National Merit Finalists:

Anna Beach
Michael Hu
Keith Murray
John Tade
Stanley Zheng

Model UN Conference

Monday, January 29, 2018

The following Academy students recently participated at the Earlham College Model UN conference. Our students presented themselves with skill and articulation in various UN committees with three delegations earning award recognition.

  • Grace Siefker and Mary Streett: Best Delegation in General Assembly (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
  • Rachael Snow and Hanbit Lee: Best Delegation in Human Rights Committee (Brazil)
  • Collin Banasiak and Reeya Chenanda: Most Improved Delegation in General Assembly (Germany)
  • Kaitlin Scott and Mario Cardenas: ECOSOC (Venezuela)
  • Cassidy Regan and Stanley Zheng: Human Rights (United States)
  • Dustin Bucher and Dawson Reprogle: Security Council (Russian Federation)
  • Anna Beach and Kay Leigh Wahl: UNICEF (United Kingdom)

Academy Students Go Abroad to Study Foreign Languages

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

The following three students in French 202 were recently accepted to the IU Honors Program in Foreign Languages to study in France this summer:

  • Josiah Zintsmaster was accepted to the program in St. Brieuc
  • Luc Baker-Stahl was accepted to the program in Brest
  • Caleb Albright was accepted to the program in Saumur

Additionally, three students studying Japanese at the Academy were also accepted into the IU program:

  • Shantel Hochstetler
  • Katie Basey
  • Leah Chambers

All three will study in Osaka, Japan.

Academy Students Attend Lugar Symposium

Monday, December 11, 2017

The following juniors recently participated in the Lugar Symposium for Tomorrow’s Leaders at the University of Indianapolis: Nathan Danek, Chloe Thomas, Ahna Abraham, and Eric Harman.

These students heard an extemporaneous overview of key topics germane to today’s society from former Senator Richard Lugar. Students attended two sessions of their choice in the afternoon, and they also had the privilege of getting pictures taken with Senator Lugar as part of the Delaware County contingent.

Academy Instructor Recognized As Outstanding Educator by University of Chicago

Monday, November 6, 2017

Cheryl Kellogg, a biology instructor at the Indiana Academy, has been selected for the University of Chicago’s Outstanding Educator Award.

This distinguished award has existed for more than three decades at the University of Chicago, and first-year students there are encouraged to nominate an educator that has impacted their lives both in and out of the classroom. Robert Belin, a 2017 Indiana Academy graduate, nominated Ms. Kellogg for the award.

Ms. Kellogg has been a biology instructor at The Indiana Academy since 2006. She has a master’s degree in biology from Ball State and is a certified medical technician. She specializes in genetics, ecology, and AP biology at the Academy.

Japanese Instructor at the Academy Named a Rising Star

Monday, November 6, 2017

Indiana Academy Japanese instructor Clara Chi was selected by the Association for Indiana Teachers of Japanese for the 2018 Rising Star Award. The award recognizes extraordinary instructors with 5 or less years of teaching experience.

Ms. Chi has helped the Japanese department reach new heights during her short tenure at the Academy. She has helped students receive college credit by transforming Japanese classes into dual credit courses. Outside of the classroom, she is regularly involved with conferences. She helped the Indiana Academy place 2nd in the level 2 section at the 2017 Japan Olympiad of Indiana. One of Ms. Chi’s students won second place at the Chicago Consulate Japanese Speech Contest in 2017.

Ms. Chi will receive the award next year at the 2018 Indiana Foreign Language Teachers Association conference.

Indiana Academy Recognized as a Top Dual Credit School

Monday, November 6, 2017

In recognition of the Indiana Academy’s efforts to provide Indiana students with access to and success in Dual Credit courses, the Indiana Department of Education (DOE) recognized them at a ceremony on Monday, November 6th at the Indiana Statehouse Atrium. Dual Credit courses are classes in which students earn both high school and college credit for classes. About 97% of Academy seniors take Dual Credit courses, averaging 24 total college credits. Only schools who had at least 30% of their students pass their classes during the 2015-2016 school year were invited to the event. The Academy was one of six Gold level schools (75% percent or higher; Academy is at 85%) out of 130 schools that were recognized at the 2017 Indiana Dual Credit Recognition Ceremony, and the Academy was the only school from Delaware County to receive this honor.

National Merit Commended Students

Friday, September 22, 2017

The following seniors have been recognized as Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. Commended students are being recognized for the exceptional academic promise demonstrated by outstanding performance on the Qualifying Test (PSAT) last October. Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2016 PSAT.

Angela Cardwell
Ningmei Gong
Nils Hinniger
Ryan Martinez
Dione Miles-Morillo
Julia Newbold
Conner Partaker