January 2024 News

Quiz Bowl Team Advances To State and National Competitions

Tuesday, January 30, 2024

Academy Quiz Bowl team
The Indiana Academy Quiz Bowl team during the regional competition.

On January 20, the varsity Quiz Bowl team participated in the Quiz Bowl regional competition at Homestead High School hosted by the Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP). For the third consecutive year, the team has qualified for both the state tournament on March 2, 2024 and the Small School National Championship Tournament sponsored by National Academic Quiz Tournaments, LLC (NAQT). The varsity team anticipates competing in this national competition against teams from all over the country on April 26-28, 2024.

Congratulations to the Quiz Bowl team and coach Mr. Joshua Ruark!

Volleyball State Champions

Saturday, November 4, 2023

Congratulations to the Academy/Burris volleyball team for winning the state championship on Saturday, November 4! They won three sets to zero by scores of 25-23, 25-16, and 25-17. This is the school’s 23rd state volleyball championship, but the first since 2010. Congratulations to the players and coaches for the hard work they put in this season!

Indiana Academy Spell Bowl Team Triumphant

Wednesday, November 1, 2023

2023 Indiana Academy Spell Bowl team.

Monday, October 30th, the Indiana Academy’s Spell Bowl team competed at the area Spell Bowl contest at Hamilton Southeastern High School. Not only did our students place first in our division at area, but our score of 70 was the highest of any Class 4 school at area competitions across the state. Two students had perfect rounds, and four students had near-perfect rounds. The team has qualified to participate at the state competition, held at Purdue University on Saturday, November 11th.

Team members are Alesya Rathinasamy (co-captain), Elizabeth Rayl (co-captain), Kennedy Horner, Carson Gull, Tandeko Beier, Miriam Boersma, Amy Wang, Eibhlin Teague, Marissa Silkett, and Lily Partridge.

Indiana Academy Seniors Win First Place at Undergraduate Conference

Friday, September 29, 2023

Academy students at American Chemical Society “Think Like a Molecule” poster session.

Congratulations to Indiana Academy seniors John Kim and Sunghoo Hong for winning the Undergraduate Award for Best Poster at the American Chemical Society “Think Like a Molecule” Poster Session, held at Marian University, located in Indianapolis, Indiana on September 21st, 2023. As a result of winning first place, both John and Sunghoo will receive a $100 cash prize.

Dr. Joel Olufowote, Director of Academic Affairs, remarks, “We take research seriously at the Academy and I’m estatic to hear that out of all the undergraduates who presented their posters at this session, the ACS judges rated John and Sunghoo’s research the best! To compete against college students and come out on top as a high school is a testament to the hard work and intentional mentorship of our faculty and staff across Academic Affairs. We also recognize the advantage we have leveraging the talented Ball State University faculty and research scientists that commit to the mission of our institution and flourishing of our students. Congrats to John, Sunghoo and the many others that made this opportunity and recognition possible.”

Academic Super Bowl State Competition Results

Monday, May 8, 2023

Indiana Academy Academic Super Bowl Teams
Indiana Academy Academic Super Bowl Teams

On May 6th, the Indiana Academy sent 15 students, representing English, Science, Fine Arts, Social Studies, Math, and Interdisciplinary squads to Purdue University to compete at the state level for Academic Super Bowl. It was quite an achievement to qualify for the state competition, much less for all six categories! It was very exciting to REPEAT championships in our class in both Mathematics and Interdisciplinary! The students competing at state were:

English: Lila Beghtel (captain), Elise Adams, Anna Gu, and Alesya Rathinasamy

Science: Jonathan Slater (captain), Carson Gull, Arav Singh, Daniel Yoo, and Sophia Griffin-Little

Fine Arts: Joseph Ciceu (captain), Elise Adams, Lila Beghtel, and Sam Greathouse

Social Studies: Yifei Wang (captain), Alexander Bell, Joseph Ciceu, and Jaehun Kim

Math: Elijah Buck (captain), Anna Gu, Carson Gull, Arav Singh, and Sophia Griffin-Little

Interdisciplinary: Lila Beghtel (captain), Alexander Bell, Elijah Buck, Joseph Ciceu, Anna Gu, Alesya Rathinasamy, Arav Singh, and Jonathan Slater

Students and coach Jessica Edrington departed the Academy at 7 a.m. and did not return until about 8 p.m., so thanks go to Joshua Ruark and Krista Hook for giving up their Saturdays to drive two of the vans for these students. Congratulations to the teams for their success!

2022 National Merit Finalists

Monday, February 14, 2022

2022 National Merit Finalists
L to R: Paul Ulrich, Justin Xia, Dr. Joel Olufowote, Sophia Lotzow

Three Indiana Academy seniors have been named Finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship competition.

Congratulations to Sophia Lotzow, Paul Ulrich, and Justin Xia!